Nurse Licensure Compact

Search Travel Nurse Jobs in Compact Nursing States

Interested in working in a compact nursing state? NursesRx has the largest database of travel nursing jobs in the U.S., including all compact nursing states.

We understand the Nurse Licensure Compact and will work directly with you to help you obtain your multi-state nursing license, so you can get onto your next travel assignment faster.

Interested in learning more? Learn more about the Nurse Licensure Compact by choosing a topic below.

What is the Nurse Licensure Compact?

The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) allows nurses to obtain a multi-state nursing license, which enables them to practice both in their home state and designated nursing compact states.

Essentially, the NLC gives nurses the ability to provide care to patients across the country without having to obtain additional nursing licenses.

Currently, there are 30 states that have ratified the Nurse Licensure Compact. See the full updated list of compact nursing states below.

List of Nursing Compact States

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin

How to Obtain Your Compact Nursing License

Getting your multi-state nursing license is easier than you think.

According to the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, nurses must meet the following list of requirements to obtain a compact nursing license:

•  Legally resides in a compact nursing state listed above
•   Holds an active RN or LPN/VN nursing license
•   Claims a nursing compact state as primary state of residency, which is determined by where the individual files his/her federal taxes
•   Maintain the licensure requirements in his/her home state

Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact

The Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) is an updated version of the current Nurse Licensure Compact. 

The eNLC allows RNs and LPN/VNs to obtain a single multi-state nursing license, which enables them to provide patient care and telehealth services in their home state and other nursing compact states.

List of Current eNLC Members:

Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Colorado Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Mexico, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee,  Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

*Rhode Island is the only state in the original NLC that has not adopted eNLC. 

Official implementation of the eNLC went into effect Friday, January 19, 2018.  

Got questions? Our friendly recruiters will walk you through the process of obtaining your compact nursing license. Just give us a call at (800) 735 4774.

Additional Resources:

Travel Nursing Jobs

Travel Nursing Resources

Browse our library of travel nursing resources such as career tips, financial advice, job search tools and more. 

travel nursing job opportunitiesWhy Choose Travel Nursing?

Get the freedom and flexibility you desire with a career in travel nursing. Discover the benefits and perks of travel nursing.

Design Your Ideal JobDesign Your Ideal Job

Choose a traveling nurse career that's exactly right for you. Design a job in your specialty across the nation.

© 2013 AMN Healthcare, Inc. All rights reserved. Reproduction and distribution of these materials is prohibited without the expressed written authorization of AMN Healthcare, Inc.